Final Fantasy 16 Outlines All Of The New Game’s Six Different Realms

Final Fantasy 16 Outlines All Of The New Game’s Six Different Realms
Credit: Final Fantasy Via YouTube

Final Fantasy XVI will take place in the world of Valisthea. Now, Square has provided some more details about this fictional planet, giving us some information about the six different realms that make it up.

The game’s official teaser website has described Valisthea as being “studded with colossal mountains of glittering crystals called Mothercrystals.” The Mothercrystals described by Square are a source of aether to Valisthea’s people. This is a precious resource that wars have been fought over.

RELATED: The Last Of Us Part 2 Director States That Some Plot Leaks And Ending Spoilers Are Not True

The ongoing struggle for this resource has created a schism throughout the world, with the population separated into various warring states.

RELATED: The Official Launch Trailer Is Revealed For The Action Adventure Game Sea Of Solitude

First we have the Holy Empire of Sanbreque.

It’s a theocracy that is ruled over by a central religious figure known as the Holy Emperor. The emperor is believed to be the living manifestation of God. Its capital, Oriflamme, is built on the Drake’s Head Mothercrystal, a huge supplier of aether. The realm has a Dominant, which is a being that serves as the empire’s champion.

Then there’s the Grand Duchy of Rosaria.

This nation is composed of “small independent provinces” to the west. This is the realm that Clive Rosfield, the game’s main protagonist, hails from. Joshua, Clive’s brother, is the realm’s Dominant. He is empowered by the Eikon of Fire, which is a phoenix. The Mothercrystal of Rosaria, the Drake’s Breath, is on a volcanic island located off the coast.

The Kingdom of Waloed is located to the east in an area known as Ash. The realm is overrun with beastmen and orcs who threaten to take the entire kingdom. The realm’s ruler is also its Dominant. They use the power of the Drake’s Spine Mothercrystal to create an army.

The Iron Kingdom is an island nation off the western coast. It is ruled by what is described as an “extreme faith” known as the Crystalline Orthodox. These beings worship Mothercrystals. The Iron Kingdom finds itself in constant conflict with Rosaria over the Drake’s Breath Mothercrystal. The beings who call the Iron Kingdom home are called the Ironblood. They speak their own language and treat Dominants as unholy abominations.

The Dhalmekian Republic is made up of five states which are ruled over by a parliament. The area is home to the Drake’s Fang Mothercrystal, which can be found in a large mountain range. Its Dominant serves as a special advisor to the parliament, using the power of Titan, the Eikon of Earth.

The Crystalline Dominion exist in the heart of the world, centered around a Mothercrystal called the Drake’s Tail. It is an autonomous area that is controlled by a council. Each realm has a representative on the council, with the exception of the Iron Kingdom.

RELATED: Should You Do The Thiago Silva OTW SBC In FIFA 21? Good Defensive Stats, Terrible Pace

Final Fantasy XVI will release for the PlayStation 5 sometime in the future. No release date has been announced at this time.