New York Game Awards 2020 Announces Nominees Ahead of Upcoming Event

New York Game Awards 2020 Announces Nominees Ahead of Upcoming Event
Credit: Sekiro via Steam

The New York Videogame Critics Circle has announced its list of nominees for the upcoming 9th Annual New York Game Awards.

The awards ceremony honors the best games and developers in the industry, including the Circle’s non-profit work.

One of the performers at the event is the Triforce Quartet.

“Highlights of the ceremony include the Andrew Yoon Legend Award, being presented to industry great Reggie Fils-Aimé, who helped change the gaming world with the Wii, Nintendo DS and Nintendo Switch. The Legend Award recognizes individuals and organizations that exhibit a significant, sustained body of work that shows exceptional achievement and innovation. Past recipients include Jade Raymond, Richard Garriott, Todd Howard, Rockstar Games and Ralph Baer.” states the official news article posted on the website.

The event is hosted by writers from the late-night comedy show The Daily Show with Trevor Noah on Comedy Central.

The Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year nominees include Luigi’s Mansion 3, The Outer Worlds, Outer Wilds, A Plague Tale: Innocence, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, Resident Evil 2, Death Stranding, Telling Lies, and Disco Elysium.

Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice has already won several Game of the Year awards, so it’s not surprising that the title was nominated once again for a prestigious award.

Additional award categories include:

  • Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game
  • A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game
  • Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game
  • Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game
  • Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game
  • Statue of Liberty Award for Best World
  • Herman Melville Award for Best Writing
  • Joltin’ Joe Award: Best Esports Player of the Year
  • Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game
  • Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake
  • Captain Award for Best Esports Team

The fifth annual Best Games Journalism Award will also be announced.

Ticket holders gained access to free game codes plus an after-party where guests can speak with other game developers in attendance. All of the ticket sales go back to the Circle and helps them in their non-profit work.

The 9th Annual New York Game Awards will be held at the SVA Theater in New York City on January 21. Those who can’t attend in person can watch the event live-streamed on Mixer and Twitch.