Microsoft Has Announced Ten Final Fantasy Games That Are Releasing On Xbox Game Pass, Includes Some Of The Best In The Franchise

Microsoft Has Announced Ten Final Fantasy Games That Are Releasing On Xbox Game Pass, Includes Some Of The Best In The Franchise
Credit: Playstation via YouTube

Ten Final Fantasy games are releasing on Xbox Game Pass in 2020, and among them are some of the most beloved games in the franchise.

This week, Microsoft made a number of announcements at their X019 event in London. Information Microsoft released ranges from Project xCloud and Project Scarlett to new games in development.

Something Xbox Game Pass subscribers cheered about was the announcement of fifty new games that are releasing between now and throughout 2020, including ten Final Fantasy games that are all releasing on PC and console.

• Final Fantasy VII
Final Fantasy VII is the most famous, widely celebrated game in the franchise. If a gamer hasn’t played Final Fantasy yet, but they would like to try it, this is a great place to start. However, they could start another game on the list and wait for the release of Final Fantasy VII Remake that’s coming out in 2020!

Final Fantasy VII follows the ex-SOLDIER Cloud Strife, who has recently joined an ex-terrorist group AVALANCHE as a mercenary. The group’s focus is on Shinra, a super corporation that uses the earth’s life essence as energy. However, as events unfold, a more prominent antagonist is revealed in the form of Sephiroth, a man with superhuman abilities who wants to become a God by becoming one with the earth.

• Final Fantasy VIII Remastered
Final Fantasy VIII follows Squall Leonhart and a group of young SeeD mercenaries hired to complete missions by Balamb Garden. As events take place, Squall and his squad end up in conflict against Sorceress Edea and her forces.

This is the remastered version that was released in September, and here is the trailer:

• Final Fantasy IX
This installment takes place on the planet Gaia and follows the protagonist Zidane Tribal, a member of a thief troupe who takes a job to kidnap the princess of Alexandria. The story progresses to a confrontation with Queen Brahne, and Zidane and his allies must stop her and her black mages.

• Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster
Final Fantasy X follows heroes Tidus and Yuna, who travel to defeat Sin, a monster who destroyed Tidus’ home, and bring peace to Spira. Final Fantasy X-2 takes place two years after the events of X and focuses on Yuna, who is now a sphere hunter, along with companies Rikku and Paine. Not to give away things that happened in X, Yuna and her companies work together to prevent a war as well as a plot to destroy Spira.

• Final Fantasy XII – The Zodiac Age
The game is set in Ivalice, where empires battle each other for the ultimate power of the region. Ashe, the princess of a fallen kingdom, creates a resistance movement again the empires and works with the central protagonist, the street thief Vaan.

• Final Fantasy XIII
Final Fantasy XIII follows Lightning, a member of the Guardian Corps, who goes rogue. Lightning, along with her companions, must fight back against a government-sanctioned purge.

• Final Fantasy XIII – 2
The game is the sequel to XIII and follows Lightning’s sister Serah and a young man named Noel as they search for Lightning, who has disappeared into an unknown world.

• Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII
This game concludes the Final Fantasy XIII storyline and takes place 500 years after the end of Final Fantasy XIII -2. Lightning awakes from hibernation thirteen days before the world is supposed to end and is chosen by a god to save the dying world.

• Final Fantasy XV
Taking place in the world of Eos, an empire seeks to control a magical Crystal that is protected by the Lucian throne. The prince of Lucis, Noctis Lucis Caelum, is the protagonist of the story and fights to reclaim his throne along with fulfilling his higher destiny.

Look for these games on the Xbox Game Pass some time in 2020!