First Ever Hearthstone Grand Finals Champion Will Be Crowned This Weekend During Blizzcon

First Ever Hearthstone Grand Finals Champion Will Be Crowned This Weekend During Blizzcon
Credit: Hearthstone Esports via YouTube

All year, Hearthstone players around the world have battled for a chance to make it to the Grand Finals at Blizzcon. Blizzcon is the annual gaming convention held by Blizzard, the developer of Hearthstone.

The inaugural year of Hearthstone Grandmasters will wrap up this weekend, with one gamer crowned the first-ever Hearthstone Grand Finals Champion.

Who is competing at the Grand Finals this weekend?

The season started early this year as Hearthstone players around the world battled each other. 48 pros across three regions, Americas, Europe, and Asia-Pacific, played each other in weekly online play during the first and second season of Hearthstone Grandmasters.

After it was all said and done, six players emerged with spots at the Grand Finals.

China, another region, had a pool of 64 veterans Hearthstone players and a pool of 1024 amateur players face off against each other during the year. After the dust settled, two players claimed their chairs at the Grand Finals.

The eight players, two from each region, that will be competing at this weekends Grand Finals are:

From the Americas – Brian “bloodyface” Eason, and Francisco “PNC” Leimontas,
From Europe – Chris “Fenomeno” Tsakopoulos, and Kevin “Casie” Eberlein
From Asia-Pacific – Kim “Surrender” Jung-soo, and Chen “tom60229” Wei Lin
From China – Xiaomeng “VKLiooon” Li, and Gao “Leaoh” Yang

Fans can view the deck lists via this Hearthstone Esports tweet:

The Grand Final will be played out as follows:

Matches will start on the first day of Blizzcon, Friday November 1st. The first round will be contested within two groups, utilizing a dual-elimination bracket. The matches will be best out of three.

The top two players from each group will advance to the second day of play, on Saturday. It will be a single-elimination bracket, and the matches will be increased to best out of five. Two players will emerge and face off in the finals.

Each group will have one representative from each region:

Group A will feature Surrender, Leaoh, PNC, and Casie
Group B will feature bloodyface, Fenomeno, tom60229, and VKLiooon

Here is a breakdown of the prize pool:

The Hearthstone Grandmasters Global Finals prize pool is substantial. All together 500,000 USD is up for grabs. The breakdown of placing and prize earnings is as followed:

First place takes home 200,000 USD
Second place earns 100, 000 USD
Third and Fourth place will get 50,000 USD each
Fifth, all the way to Eighth will receive 25,000 USD apiece.

It will be a nice payday for the Hearthstone pros, as they are guaranteed at least 25,000 USD.

Fans can watch the entire Grand Finals either with their Blizzcon Virtual Ticket or through the official Hearthstone Twitch channel.