Bandai Namco Gives Us A First Look At The New Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot DLC

Bandai Namco Gives Us A First Look At The New Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot DLC
Credit: BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Europe via Youtube

It looks like everyone’s favorite Saiyan is going to be getting some new DLC soon. Bandai Namco recently confirmed that there would be new DLC coming to Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot soon – possibly as soon as this spring!

This is far from the only new content coming to the title, though. In fact, this is only the first part of a multi-part DLC, it seems, given that Bandai Namco have called it “A New Power Awakens – Part 1.” Unfortunately, it looks like it’ll only be released through the season pass once spring 2020 hits, or it should be purchasable when the second part releases later this year.

The A New Power Awakens DLC brings some characters that fans will be familiar with, giving just a hint of fan service for those that remember Dragon Ball Super. Players will be able to reach the Super Saiyan God transformation after training with Whis, allowing them to face off against Beerus in a boss battle exclusive to this DLC.

It looks like this content will be accessible throughout the main game, allowing players to use the DLC’s content – including what will undoubtedly be the incredibly powerful Super Saiyan God transformation – through the main storyline. Depending on the specifics of the transformation, this may end up making the game a bit of an easy mode, but we’ll have to wait for more information before we can safely make that assumption.

There’s more than just a transformation and a boss battle coming, though. It looks like Bandai Namco is also adding in a few tunes with the music pack. Players will be able to enjoy the following tracks with the DLC:

  • Makafushigi Adventure!
  • Romantic Ageruyo
  • We Gotta Power
  • Detekoi Tobikiri Zenkai Power
  • Bokutachiha Tenshidatta
  • Dragon Soul
  • Unmeino Hi Tamashii vs. Tamashii
  • Dragon Ball Z BGM
  • Kaibutsu Frieza vs. Densetsuno Super Saiyans
  • Yappari Saikyo Songoko
  • Solid State Scouter

Those tunes, as you can probably guess from reading through, will be recognized by big fans of the franchise, but if you have a fleeting interest you’ll only enjoy them as the great songs that they are. Honestly, though, many have said the same about the game at large, as Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot hasn’t quite enjoyed the best reviews since its release. It mostly has average scores overall and has earned a 73/100 on Metacritic, though it’s been a massive hit with fans and on Steam.

Overall, though, there’s plenty to enjoy in this game, and the DLC is only going to be adding to that. The A New Power Awakens DLC will likely be hitting shelves in the near future, so keep an eye out if you’ve been wanting to push your power beyond a Super Saiyan.